Ray’s Market, another victim of epic flood

  

Sweet potatoes from plant purchased at Ray's Market

Sweet potatoes from plant purchased at Ray's Market

  Call me a gardening geek, but yes, that is a photo of some of my sweet potatoes, which we finished eating just a couple months ago. I took the picture because a) they were the first sweet potatoes I had ever grown and b) they might have been one of the last relics of a business that fell victim to June’s devastating flood in Cedar Rapids.

   I bought the sweet potato plant in May from Ray’s Market, near Czech Village in Cedar Rapids,  just weeks before the flood that devastated not only Czech Village and my old neighborhood near Ray’s Market, but many other parts of the city.

  It took me awhile to track down Ray’s Market owner Fran Smith, someone I didn’t even know by name before the flood. She was hesitant to talk about what happened and who could blame her. Not only had she lost her business, a longtime icon at Bowling and C streets SW, but her son, who worked in the store with her, nearly lost his life around the same time. Lynn Smith had to have his leg amputated after he was hospitalized with pneumonia and an infection right before the flood. He and his wife, Karren, lived in a home behind Ray’s Market. The family has been through a harrowing year, but Lynn pulled through his illness. 

   Fran decided against the burdensome cost of rebuilding Ray’s Market. I’m sure many people will miss the blooming petunias and other bedding plants that lined the front of the shop come springtime. And I’ll have to track down another sweet potato plant elsewhere. In the meantime, you can catch up with Fran and her mother, who sell homemade jelly, jams, floral arrangements and aprons, at Cedar Rapids farmers markets. Fran also said she would consider selling Ray’s Market, as well as the house behind it. Although the business is in shambles, the home can be rebuilt.

More on their story is in the Friday, Feb. 27, 2009, issue of The Gazette.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Steve Hanken said,

    I realize it is a way to go, but there is a green house north east of Kalona that always carries sweet potato plants , but the real secret to this place is the prices are very reasonable for everything! They carry seed potatoes, onion sets, lots of stuff your gardener buddy John grew came from there since I gave him a ride down. They have a good selection of peppers, tomatoes , cabbages, egg plant, and tons of flowering plant’s and shrubs. I can’t remember the name, but I think it had “Avenue” in it’s location.

  2. 2

    Cindy said,

    Good suggestion, Steve.

    I’ve seen it as Maple Avenue Nursery or Maple Avenue Greenhouse near Kalona. I tried to reach them, but haven’t heard back. I’ll have to check it out this spring.

    Cindy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

