First frost

We’ve been lucky to escape an early  frost this year in Eastern Iowa. But when is the average first frost?

 

    Different sources say different dates. I’ve seen the average listed for Cedar Rapids – where I garden –  between Sept. 16 and Sept. 25. The Farmer’s Almanac says it’s Oct. 7.

   For Decorah, in northeastern Iowa, it’s about the same, or even earlier. One listing says Sept.  18 and, according to Iowa State University, between Sept. 22 and Oct. 4.

  South in Iowa City, Iowa State University lists the average first frost a bit later, between Oct. 1 and 13.

 

I usually try to note when the first frost is in my gardening journal, but couldn’t find anything for 2007 until Oct. 24. Was it that late last year? And then it didn’t even appear to be a killing frost. In 2006, according to my notes, it was more obvious. On Oct. 11, after a stretch of 70-degree days in the preceding week, there was not only a hard frost, but snow!

 

Earlier this week, weather forecasters said we could get our first frost Wednesday night; somewhat fitting, as it will be Oct. 1. That forecast was changed, and frost was taken out for the coming week, at least in Cedar Rapids.  I hope they’re right.  I’m not yet ready to give up on this gardening season.

 

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    daysofherlife said,

    I’m not worried until I see forecast hitting below 35. Isn’t that one of advantage of living on higher ground and within a small town, huh? Forecast is calling for low 40….. Burr! I’m glad I am planning to finish my gardens by end of mid-October (don’t want to have that staring back at me when I get home from almost two weeks abscence). time to try to get couple starts started!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

